What is a Brand?

12 12 2013

Am I a brand? How do I become a brand? Do I want to be a brand? Is my art the brand; or am I the brand? What is an art brand? Whew….the questions keep coming!  And branding is a critical component in today’s marketplace, especially for artists looking to leverage each entrepreneurial step they take to new levels of profits and exposure.

So, today I want to get back to the basics of: ‘what is a brand?’ It seems that many people are mistaken, and I think it’s very worthwhile to make sure you understand this, before you try to build and direct the development of your own brand.

The slide show below was created by John Cooper, as part of a workshop presenting the book ‘Zag.’ It does an amazing job of compressing the essence of a complete branding book into a few short minutes, so please take the time to flip through it. I believe ‘Zag: The Number One Strategy of High-Performance Brands’ by Marty Neumeier, has nailed today’s marketplace and our key options. I hope you find it as interesting, insightful and amusing as I do.

Let me know if you get it and how it changes your thinking about brands today. I will share more about how to create art licensing brands in future blogs, so stay tuned.

Actions

Information

2 responses

15 12 2013
Cheryl McNulty

Very interesting and very enjoyable.

12 12 2013
sandyhaight

Good one, J’net! Thanks! It seems branding is a social phenomenon and the logo is just part of that.the visual mark.

Sandy Sandy Haight Illustration http://sandyhaight.com Phone: 206-343-0656 Fax: same. call 1st Please subscribe to my blog at http:sandyhaight.com/blog on the upper right side to be notified of occasional posts including fine art, illustration and teaching news.

From: Rosemarys Blog Reply-To: Date: Thursday, December 12, 2013 5:27 PM To: sandy haight Subject: [New post] What is a Brand?

WordPress.com blogjnet posted: “Am I a brand? How do I become a brand? Do I want to be a brand? Is my art the brand; or am I the brand? What is an art brand? Whew.the questions keep coming! And branding is a critical component in todays marketplace, especially for artists looking to “

Leave a Reply

